Ssempa and Meany earn All-Conference honors for Men's Soccer

Ssempa and Meany earn All-Conference honors for Men's Soccer

Mon, Nov. 14, 2016 - [Men's Soccer]

Courtesy of American Midwest Conference

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - At the conclusion of the 2016 American Midwest Conference (AMC) Men's Soccer Championship Thursday afternoon, the American Midwest Conference released its 2016 Men's Soccer All-Conference awards and among those selected from Freed-Hardeman were Nassar Ssempa and Alex Meany.

Ssempa and Meany anchored the Lion offense during the 2016 season, as each served as vocal leaders on and off the field. Meany led the team in several offensive categories including Goals Scored (9), Assists (5), Shots (52) and Shots on Goal (23).

For his career, Meany racked up 19 goals and dished out 10 assists while averaging nearly two shots per game for the Lions.

Ssempa also found success during his senior season getting scoring runs started for the Lions as a result of his quickness in the midfield. For his career with the Lions, Ssempa scored one goal and dished out two assists while being a fixture in the starting lineup.

In addition to the All-Conference individual awards, the Lion soccer team also took home the Fair Play and Sportsmanship team award given each season to a team that demonstrates good sportsmanship throughout the season.

Jason Elliott, head coach for the Lion soccer program, said he was proud of both players as a result of their contributions throughout the season.

"I was pleased to see that Nassar and Alex both got recognition by the conference coaches for their work this season," Elliott said. "Both players are going to be hard to replace for us next season. They leave FHU with a legacy that will be remembered for a long time. In my 16 years here they will rank high on the list with Simba Zvaita, Kenniel Hyde, Phillip Baier, Mariano Saenz, and Andrew Williams as some of the best to play here. Nassar will always be thought of for his high work rate that is second to none. Alex brought great skill to the game that was often unnoticed because he played the game the right way and was unselfish. We are proud of these leaders as they gave everything they had for this great University."

A complete list of the All-Conference Awards is listed below:


At Goalkeeper: From Hannibal-LaGrange, Joaquin Hansen

At Goalkeeper: From Lindenwood-Belleville, Christian Espita

At Goalkeeper: From William Woods, Connor Cable

At Defender: From Columbia, Matija Ceraj

At Defender: From Hannibal-LaGrange, Daniel Carrasco

At Defender: From Hannibal-LaGrange, Adriano Baeta

At Defender: From Lindenwood-Belleville, Sebastian Reyes

At Defender: From Lyon, Lucas Alvarez

At Defender: From Park, Mirko Sandivari

At Midfielder: From Columbia, Zachary Felz

At Midfielder: From Freed-Hardeman, Nassar Ssempa

At Midfielder: From Hannibal-LaGrange, Claudio Rivadeneira

At Midfielder: From Hannibal-LaGrange, Ignacio Garrido

At Midfielder: From Missouri Baptist, Gerardo Espinoza

At Midfielder: From Park, Tim Kloster

At Forward: From Columbia, Edin Campara

At Forward: From Columbia, Mitchell Conning

At Forward: From Hannibal-LaGrange, Isaac Lehmkuhl

At Forward: From Park, Mario Erpel

At Forward: From William Woods, Rodrigo Alves

Fairplay and Sportsmanship: Freed-Hardeman University

Freshman of the Year: Sebastian Durand; Lindenwood-Belleville

Newcomer of the Year: Claudio Rivadeneira; Hannibal-LaGrange

Coach of the Year: David Erskine; Hannibal-LaGrange

Player of the Year: Claudio Rivadeneira; Hannibal-LaGrange


From Central Baptist: Nester Moguel, Callum Morris, and Travis Owen

From Columbia: Pere Severa

From Freed-Hardeman: Alex Meany

From Lindenwood-Belleville: Sebastian Durand, Pablo Martinez, and Andres Garza Rodriguez

From Lyon: Mario Alonso, Ulises Caba Cordova, Omar Fabila, and Arne Meyer

From Missouri Baptist: Connar Armstrong, ARE-iss NOO-kich, Erick Ocampo, Joshua Phillips, and Benjamin Randolph

From Park: Rodolfo Lopez

From St. Louis College of Pharmacy: Thomas Jamieson

From William Woods: Anthony Moscatello, Alberto Pitarch

From Williams Baptist: Matheus Alonso, Javier Piedra, and Thiago Sooma

The American Midwest Conference is a 13-school NAIA Division I conference with schools in Arkansas, Illinois, Missouri, and Tennessee.  It was chartered in 1986 as the Show-Me Collegiate Conference becoming the American Midwest Conference in 1994.  The Conference sponsors 16 championships, eight each for men and women - baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's golf, men's and women's soccer, softball, men's and women's indoor track & field, men's and women's outdoor track & field, women's volleyball and men's wrestling.