Five Lion Baseball players earn All-Conference honors

Five Lion Baseball players earn All-Conference honors

Fri, May 5, 2017 - [Baseball]

Matt Barker, Sports Information Director

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - The American Midwest Conference announced Wednesday the 2017 Baseball All Conference teams and among those selected from Freed-Hardeman were five Lion players.

Chase Young took home First-Team All Conference honors after leading the Lions a majority of the season at the plate, hitting .352 and compiling 63 hits, 23 doubles, one triple and 59 RBI. Even more impressive was his power at the plate, where he pounded out 12 homeruns in 2017.

Two players new to the Lion baseball program, first basemen Aden Campbell and starting pitcher Riley Echols, earned Second-Team All Conference honors in their first season with the program. Campbell was impressive at the plate this season, leading the team with a .364 batting average while compiling 60 hits, five homeruns and 43 RBI. Echols also had an impressive year for the Lions on the mound, as he compiled a 6-2 record while striking out 76 batters in 70 innings of work.

Griffin Siebert and Houston Looser rounded out the awards for the Lions baseball program, as Siebert earned Second-Team honors along with Gold Glove honors while Looser racked up Gold Glove honors for a second straight season.

2017 All AMC Second Team

Catcher: From Hannibal-LaGrange University, Nick Jones
Catcher: From Missouri Baptist University, Brandon Schlichtig
First Baseman: From William Woods University, Tyler Cunningham
Second Baseman: From Wiliam Woods, Ryan Phillips
Third Basemen: From Williams Baptist, Seth Hart; From Columbia, Kenny Piper, and From Freed-Hardeman, Griffin Siebert
Shortstop: From Lindenwood-Belleville, Cory Lubinski
Utility Infielder: From Freed-Hardeman, Aden Campbell
Outfielder: From William Woods, Nolan Aherin
Outfielder: From Lyon, Will Lindsey
Outfielder: From Central Baptist, Monterio May
Outfielder: From Williams Baptist, Kagen Brown
Outfielder: From Lyon, Andrew Sauceda
Designated Hitter: From Harris-Stowe, Zach Jones
Pitcher: From Missouri Baptist, Michael Syrett
Pitcher: From Lyon, Reece Chovanec
Pitcher: From Columbia, Cody Ebert
Pitcher: From Freed-Hardeman, Riley Echols
Utility Pitcher: From Central Baptist, Cole Johnson
And Utility Pitcher: From Columbia, Craig Smith

2017 AMC All-Conference First Team Honorees:

Catcher: From Harris-Stowe, Dylan Yankle
Catcher: From Central Baptist: Austin Kuchinski
First Baseman: From Columbia, Andrew Warner
Second Baseman: From Central Baptist, Jalin Lawson
Third Baseman: From Missouri Baptist, Chad Ramsey
Shortstop: From Missouri Baptist, Culver Plant
Utility Infielder: From Missouri Baptist, Aaron Collazo
Outfielder: From Freed-Hardeman, Chase Young
Outfielder: From Harris-Stowe, Arsalaan Alvi
Outfielder: From Columbia, Ethan Howser
Outfielder: From Missouri Baptist, Drew Kitson
Designated Hitter: From Lindenwood-Belleville, Dylan Skinner
Pitcher: From Lyon, Tyler Tognarine
Pitcher: From Central Baptist, Ben Madison
Pitcher: From William Woods, Ryan Phillips
Pitcher: From Columbia Zach Maskill
And Utility Pitcher: From Missouri Baptist, Nick Vichio

Gold Glove Team

Houston Looser, Freed-Hardeman
Griffin Siebert, Freed-Hardeman
Ethan Ruff, Lindenwood-Belleville
John Hagan, Missouri Baptist University
Brandon Schlichtig, Missouri Baptist University
Michael Syrett, Missouri Baptist University
Weston Jacobs, Park University
Tim Shaareman, Park University
Nick Scott, Williams Baptist College

2017 AMC Newcomer Player of the Year: From Columbia, Andrew Warner

2017 AMC Newcomer Pitcher of the Year: From Central Baptist, Ben Madison

2017 AMC Freshman Player of the Year: From Columbia, Kenny Piper

2017 AMC Freshman Pitcher of the Year: From Lyon, Reece Chovanec

2017 AMC Dual Position Player of the Year: From William Woods, Ryan Phillips

2017 AMC Player of the Year: From Columbia, Andrew Warner

2017 AMC Pitcher of the Year: From Lyon, Tyler Tognarine

2017 AMC Coach of the Year: From Columbia, Darren Munns