Jana Cross Gobble
Inducted in 2015
Women's Basketball
As a Lion

Jana Cross will go down as one of the most accomplished players in Lady Lion basketball program history. During her time at Freed-Hardeman, she accumulated more national and conference awards than any player to come before her.

Cross wasted no time making her presence known upon arriving at FHU, earning TranSouth Conference Freshman of the Year honors during the 2006-07 season. Throughout her career in a Lady Lion uniform from 2006 to 2010, Cross earned multiple individual honors and was selected to represent FHU and the TranSouth conference all four years she played.

Cross was an NAIA All-American and TranSouth Conference First-Team selection all four seasons with the Lady Lions. Additionally, she was selected to be a part of the State Farm All-American team, Academic All-Conference Team, and Academic All-American team three years in a row during her career at FHU.

At the time of her induction, Cross was the second all-time leading scorer in FHU Lady Lion basketball program history with 2,222 career points. Throughout her career she played in 123 games, averaged 18.1 points per game and shot 57.3 percent from the field.

“Jana began making a huge impact on Lady Lion basketball the first day she arrived on campus,” said Dale Neal, head coach for the Lady Lion basketball program. “She became the first and only four-time All-American. She always set high standards for herself in everything she strived to accomplish; in athletics and in her personal life. She was a great influence on others and always represented her team with dignity and class while being a tremendous role model and inspiration to others.”

After Graduation

In December 2014, Cross obtained her Master’s degree in Instructional Design from West Texas A&M University while maintaining a 4.0 GPA.

At the time of her induction, Cross taught math at Leoma Elementary School in Leoma Tennessee, where she also served as the head volleyball coach. She has also served as the assistant coach for the women’s basketball team at Loretto High School in Loretto, Tenn.

Lion Hall of Fame
1985Kerby FarrellBaseball
1985Willie HudsonBasketball/Coaching after FHU
1985Laurent JohnsonCoaching
1985Dew Drop RowlettCoaching
1985R.W. (Dick) StewartBasketball
1985Lon VarnellBaseball, Basketball, and Football
1986Mary Nelle Brum ChalkWomen's Basketball
1986John Luke WebbFootball, Basketball, and Baseball
1986Sue McBride WilliamsWomen's Basketball
1986James WilliamsBaseball and Basketball
1987Mac H. FeltsMultiple
1987Kate Pennington RochelleWomen's Basketball
1987Robert L. WittBasketball
1988Ulyss BrockMen's Basketball
1988Mayme Higginbottam LaneWomen's Basketball
1988Jim MurdaughMen's Basketball
1989Jerry MooreMen's Basketball
1989John L. WeeksBaseball, Basketball, Football
1989Marvin WilliamsCoaching after FHU
1990Vanassa Chism BranchWomen's Basketball
1990Dolly LambertBaseball
1990John PipkinBaseball and Basketball
1990David SmithBasketball
1991Sammy FisherCoaching
1991Dick GrayTrack and Field
1991Hoyt KirkCoaching
1991Robert Stanley LittleMen's Basketball
1992Ancil JohnsonMen's Basketball
1992Clyde WoodsTennis
1993Aaron HerronMen's Basketball
1993Gerald MichaelMen's Basketball
1994Arthur BonnerMen's Basketball
1994Larry MackinMen's Basketball/Baseball
1995Ruben BrownMen's Basketball
1995Charlie SmithMen's Basketball, Coaching
1996Cindy AndersonWomen's Basketball
1996Janice Wood GriggsWomen's Basketball
1996Renee Hensley PaughTennis and Basketball
1996Owen MitchellMen's Tennis
1997Randall AveryMen's Basketball
1997Sergio CastelloMen's Tennis
1998Garrett GrillsMen's Basketball
1999Fabiana CuggionniWomen's Tennis
1999Joe HardinDistinguished Service
1999Johanna MittenhammerWomen's Tennis
1999Ernesto RamosMen's Basketball
2000Claudia SanchezTennis
2002Jennifer Burkeen ShowersBasketball
2002David ByrdCoaching
2002Clay MurleyBaseball
2005Kara Sanders AtkinsWomen's Basketball
2005Qiana ElamWomen's Basketball
2006Chike StevensonMen's Basketball
2007Federico ContrerasTennis
2007Ricardo FerreiraTennis
2007Micheal GainesMen's Basketball
2008Nancy BennettDistinguished Service
2008Lee BurklowMen's Basketball
2008Mikki Dowell VinsonVolleyball/Softball
2009Anelise BattaglionWomen's Tennis
2009Jamie NorsworthyMen's Basketball
2009Terry WeeksCoaching
2009Jessica WoodardWomen's Basketball
2010Chuck BoxBaseball
2010Patrick O'SullivanBaseball
2011Van KalinisanBaseball
2011Eddie MartinCoaching after FHU
2011Ashlee RobertsonWomen's Basketball
2012Jonathan EstesBaseball
2012Pernell KnoxBaseball
2012Tony LambertMen's Basketball
2012Wes MillerMen's Basketball
2012Stacy Myers PalmerWomen's Basketball
2013Renata PedreiraVolleyball
2013Payton ReddenBaseball
2013Karina Souza SimonVolleyball
2014Tomas OresanskyMen's Basketball
2014Tarrah TuckerSoftball
2015Jana Cross GobbleWomen's Basketball
2015Zack FreyMen's Basketball
2015Donald MartinBaseball
2016Meribeth Boehler CarpenterWomen's Basketball
2016Brittany BradfordSoftball
2016Tiffany Harris ForbisWomen's Soccer
2016Josh HesterBaseball