Dew Drop Rowlett
Inducted in 1985
As a Lion

Dew Drop Rowlett could be inducted into the FHU Athletics Hall of Fame based on name only, but her accomplishments as an athlete and a coach gave the selection a little more credence.

Rowlett attended FHC from 1930 to 1932 and played tennis and basketball during that time.  She was captain of the basketball team in 1931 and 1932 and was named to the Mississippi Valley Conference tournament team in 1930, '31 and '32.  The latter two years, she was also voted MVP of the tourney.  In 1930 and 1931, her peers at FHC voted her "best girl athlete."

After Graduation

She attended Murray State University from 1993-1935 where she played basketball, tennis and softball.  Rowlett was captain of the softball team in 1934 while playing three different sports and playing for two basketball teams.  Besides the Murray State squad, she played AAU basketball for the Tupelo Redwings in '34 and '35.  In '34, she was named to the All-Southern AAU basketball squad and participated on the All-American AAU squad in Wichita, Kan.

In 1936, she began her professional career.  Her first job was as a teacher and coach at Murray High School.  She stayed there for 30 years, teaching and coaching tennis and track and field.  In track, she had one state runner-up squad and in tennis her squads won seven regional championships and a second-place state finish.

In 1965, she began her college coaching career at Murray State.  She coached women's tennis for two years and basketball from 1968 to 1977.  In '74 and '77, her teams were AIAW District Runners-up and participated in the regional tournament.

In 1978, she began her last coaching job with her alma mater.  She coached at FHC until 1981 and in 1980 she was named the Volunteer State Athletic Conference Coach of the Year.

Rowlett has received many awards throughout her career for her athletic ability and knowledge.  In 1968, she was recognized as one of Kentucky's outstanding women in sports.  In 1981, she was recognized as a founder of the Kentucky Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.  These two add to the long list of awards she received while playing basketball, tennis and softball.

Dew Drop's character is as colorful as her name and her placement in the FHC Hall of Fame as the first female inductee is recognition for the things she has done for women's athletics.

Lion Hall of Fame
1985Kerby FarrellBaseball
1985Willie HudsonBasketball/Coaching after FHU
1985Laurent JohnsonCoaching
1985Dew Drop RowlettCoaching
1985R.W. (Dick) StewartBasketball
1985Lon VarnellBaseball, Basketball, and Football
1986Mary Nelle Brum ChalkWomen's Basketball
1986John Luke WebbFootball, Basketball, and Baseball
1986Sue McBride WilliamsWomen's Basketball
1986James WilliamsBaseball and Basketball
1987Mac H. FeltsMultiple
1987Kate Pennington RochelleWomen's Basketball
1987Robert L. WittBasketball
1988Ulyss BrockMen's Basketball
1988Mayme Higginbottam LaneWomen's Basketball
1988Jim MurdaughMen's Basketball
1989Jerry MooreMen's Basketball
1989John L. WeeksBaseball, Basketball, Football
1989Marvin WilliamsCoaching after FHU
1990Vanassa Chism BranchWomen's Basketball
1990Dolly LambertBaseball
1990John PipkinBaseball and Basketball
1990David SmithBasketball
1991Sammy FisherCoaching
1991Dick GrayTrack and Field
1991Hoyt KirkCoaching
1991Robert Stanley LittleMen's Basketball
1992Ancil JohnsonMen's Basketball
1992Clyde WoodsTennis
1993Aaron HerronMen's Basketball
1993Gerald MichaelMen's Basketball
1994Arthur BonnerMen's Basketball
1994Larry MackinMen's Basketball/Baseball
1995Ruben BrownMen's Basketball
1995Charlie SmithMen's Basketball, Coaching
1996Cindy AndersonWomen's Basketball
1996Janice Wood GriggsWomen's Basketball
1996Renee Hensley PaughTennis and Basketball
1996Owen MitchellMen's Tennis
1997Randall AveryMen's Basketball
1997Sergio CastelloMen's Tennis
1998Garrett GrillsMen's Basketball
1999Fabiana CuggionniWomen's Tennis
1999Joe HardinDistinguished Service
1999Johanna MittenhammerWomen's Tennis
1999Ernesto RamosMen's Basketball
2000Claudia SanchezTennis
2002Jennifer Burkeen ShowersBasketball
2002David ByrdCoaching
2002Clay MurleyBaseball
2005Kara Sanders AtkinsWomen's Basketball
2005Qiana ElamWomen's Basketball
2006Chike StevensonMen's Basketball
2007Federico ContrerasTennis
2007Ricardo FerreiraTennis
2007Micheal GainesMen's Basketball
2008Nancy BennettDistinguished Service
2008Lee BurklowMen's Basketball
2008Mikki Dowell VinsonVolleyball/Softball
2009Anelise BattaglionWomen's Tennis
2009Jamie NorsworthyMen's Basketball
2009Terry WeeksCoaching
2009Jessica WoodardWomen's Basketball
2010Chuck BoxBaseball
2010Patrick O'SullivanBaseball
2011Van KalinisanBaseball
2011Eddie MartinCoaching after FHU
2011Ashlee RobertsonWomen's Basketball
2012Jonathan EstesBaseball
2012Pernell KnoxBaseball
2012Tony LambertMen's Basketball
2012Wes MillerMen's Basketball
2012Stacy Myers PalmerWomen's Basketball
2013Renata PedreiraVolleyball
2013Payton ReddenBaseball
2013Karina Souza SimonVolleyball
2014Tomas OresanskyMen's Basketball
2014Tarrah TuckerSoftball
2015Jana Cross GobbleWomen's Basketball
2015Zack FreyMen's Basketball
2015Donald MartinBaseball
2016Meribeth Boehler CarpenterWomen's Basketball
2016Brittany BradfordSoftball
2016Tiffany Harris ForbisWomen's Soccer
2016Josh HesterBaseball